Quinoa, Brussel Sprout & Pancetta Stuffed Portobella Mushroom Caps

image

Quinoa, Brussel Sprout & Pancetta Stuffed Portobella Mushroom Caps

So I recently stumbled upon shaved brussel sprouts in the produce section of our new Trader Joe’s.  I love brussel sprouts in any form, prepared in any fashion.  I was in hog heaven with my new find.  Do you know how much time this is going to save me from having to do it myself?  Winning!

During this same trip, I picked up some diced pancetta at a great price (again, the work’s already been done for me) and tri-color quinoa.  I just knew there was a great recipe there somewhere.

Standing in my kitchen as if I was on an episode of Chopped, I stared at the ingredients sitting upon my countertop.  I decided to just start cooking and see what happened.  I grabbed a shallot, some garlic and began chopping.

What resulted was a pretty easy, quick and delicious dish.

Ingredients:
3-4 Portobella Mushroom Caps (stems removed and gills scooped out)
2 Cups Shaved Brussel Sprouts
1 Cup Pancetta, chopped
1 1/2 Cups Quinoa, cooked  (Click HERE for perfect quinoa)
1 Clove Garlic, chopped
1 Small Shallot, chopped
1 Tbsp Fennel Seed
Olive Oil
1/2 Cup White Cheddar, grated
1/4 Cup Parmesan-Reggiano, grated
Salt & Pepper to taste
Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350.
Prepare Quinoa and set aside
Brush mushroom caps with olive oil inside and out.  Place on baking sheet, cook in oven for 10-15 minutes.  Remove.
In small bowl, combine cheeses

In large pan, saute shallot and garlic in 1 tbsp olive oil till beginning to soften.  Add pancetta, cook for 2 minutes more.  Add brussel sprouts and fennell seed and saute until just wilted.  Salt & Pepper to desired taste.  Turn off heat.  Add quinoa to brussel sprout mixture.  Divide the mixture evenly between each  cap.  Sprinkle with 2 tbsp cheese each (or more if desired).

Return to oven and bake until cheese is melted and beginning to brown and mushrooms are cooked.  Approximately 10-12 minutes more.

Serve alongside salad greens tossed with balsamic & olive oil.

2 thoughts on “Quinoa, Brussel Sprout & Pancetta Stuffed Portobella Mushroom Caps

Leave a Reply

