Pan Roasted Corn, Mushroom & Asparagus Risotto

image

Pan Roasted Corn, Mushroom & Asparagus Risotto

I must admit I have an incorrigible weakness for risotto.  I think I fell in love with it when I first had it at Al’s Upstairs Italian Restaurant in West Columbia, SC.  Served alongside the Veal a la Al hooked me.  To this day, I don’t think I’ve ordered anything else there.  I decided to try my hand at my own risotto.   I will say this – This is a cooking technique that definitely improves with practice.  The recipes you can create are endless.  I’ve made everything from butternut squash risotto to a mouthwatering seafood risotto to what you see featured here.  This is by far my favorite.  It is a labor of love, you can’t rush it.  After 22 minutes you will have the richest, creamiest, yummiest risotto ever.  I would love you to share your risotto recipes with me.

Ingredients
1 C Aborio Rice
1/2 C Frozen Corn
1/2 C Rough chopped portabello mushroom or mixed blend
1/2 C Asparagus stalk sliced 1/8 in
3/4 C Parmesano-Reggiano grated
4 Tbsp Butter + 1 Tbsp
1/2 C white wine
4 C Chicken Stock
2 Cloves Garlic minced
1 large Shallot chopped
Chopped fresh parsley

Preparation
Heat chicken stock in a sauce pan over low heat.

Sautee corn, mushrooms and asparagus in 2 tbsp butter over medium heat until just softened.  Set aside
image

In deep skillet, sautee shallot and garlic in 2 tbsp butter over medium high heat.  Add rice and cook 1-2 minutes.  Add white wine and stir until absorbed by rice.  Reduce heat to medium and begin adding heated stock 1- 1/2 ladles at a time and stirring frequently.  When stock is just about absorbed, add another 1 1/2 ladles of stock, continuing to stir frequently.

image

Reduce heat to low, add corn, mushroom and asparagus mixture and combine.  Add cheese, about 2 tbsp chopped parsley (salt & pepper to taste).

image

Serve with more parsley sprinkled on top if desired.

image

2 thoughts on “Pan Roasted Corn, Mushroom & Asparagus Risotto

Leave a Reply

